Cotton Farming Peanut Grower Rice Farming CornSouth Soybean South  
In This Issue
Cotton – Charting New Waters
Increased Capacity Helps Texas Ginners
Cotton's Agenda: Don’t Miss Those Deadlines
Greenhouse Gas Debate Continues
Don’t Mess With West Texas...Varieties
Pigweed Hits North Alabama
Air Quality Rules Help Farmers
Ginning In The West Continues To Change
Calif. Ag Summit Focuses On Key Industry Issues
What Customers Want: Today’s Consumer Won’t Accept Poor Quality
Cotton Board: Enemy Becomes Friend
Missouri’s Parker Elected Chairman Of NCC For 2011
Editor's Note: Want Some Advice? Talk To A Farmer
Industry Comments
Web Poll: ‘Combo’ Approach For Weed Control
Specialists Speaking
Cotton Ginners Marketplace: Don’t Wait Too Long To Schedule Gin Repairs
Industry News
Cotton Consultants Corner: ‘Don’t Wait Too Late’
My Turn: A Fond Farewell
TCGA Schedule of Events
President's Report
TCGA’s ‘Ginner of the Year’
Scholarship Awards Announced
Trust Continues Profitable Trend In 2010
Incoming TCGA President
Q&A with Jim Bradford
TCGA Exhibitors and Booth Numbers
CF / TCGA Alliance
Civic Center Map (PDF)
TCGA Staff
NFL Referee To Address PCG Annual Meeting
TCGA’s New Home: Overton Hotel
TCGA Officers/Directors
What To Do In Lubbock
Georgian To Lead National Cotton Ginners

Missouri’s Parker Elected Chairman Of NCC For 2011

  print email

Charles Parker, a Senath, Mo., cotton producer, was elected chairman of the National Cotton Council (NCC) for 2011. Named during the NCC’s annual meeting held in San Antonio, he served as the NCC’s vice chairman in 2010 and succeeds Eddie Smith, a Floydada, Texas, cotton producer.

Parker also is chairman of the NCC’s Boll Weevil Action Committee. He served as the Missouri state chairman for the American Cotton Producers from 1995-2007 and as chairman of The Cotton Foundation in 2008-09 and as its president in 2007-08.

Active in state and regional organizations, Parker is past president of the Cotton Producers of Missouri and the Arkansas Agricultural Council.

The NCC’s vice chairman for 2011 is C.B. “Chuck” Coley, a Vienna, Ga., producer/ginner.

Planting Intentions Projected At 12.5 Million Acres in 2011

U.S. cotton producers intend to plant 12.5 million acres of cotton this spring, up 14 percent from 2010, according to the National Cotton Council’s 28th Annual Early Season Planting Intentions Survey.

Upland cotton intentions are 12.3 million acres, an increase of nearly 14 percent from 2010, while extra-long staple (ELS) intentions of 251,000 acres represent a 23 percent increase.

Assuming an average abandonment rate of 11 percent, total upland and ELS harvested area would be about 11.1 million acres. Applying state-level yield assumptions to projected harvested acres generates a cotton crop of 19.2 million bales, compared with 2010’s total production of 18.3 million bales.

Memphis Merchant Mitchell Elected CCI President

John D. Mitchell, a Cordova, Tenn., merchant, will serve as the 2011 president of Cotton Council International (CCI). CCI is the National Cotton Council’s (NCC) export promotions arm and carries out programs in more than 50 countries globally under the COTTON USA trademark.

He succeeds Wallace L. (Wally) Darneille, a Lubbock, Texas, cooperative official, who now becomes CCI board chairman.

Mitchell began his cotton career in 1975 as a sales broker to U.S. cotton mills. From there, he owned and managed a cotton gin, warehouse and merchandising business in north Alabama. In 1979, Mitchell joined Cargill Cotton and, after managing offices in Louisiana and Alabama, he assumed the position of Southeast Region Merchant Manager in 1990.

As a vice president of Cargill Cotton, he served as senior merchant manager for the Mid-South and Southeast from 2000 to 2008.

Dodson Re-elected ACP Chairman

James F. “Jimmy” Dodson, a Robstown, Texas, producer, was re-elected as chairman of the American Cotton Producers (ACP) of the National Cotton Council for 2011.

Elected as an ACP vice chairman was George King, Chatham, Miss., and re-elected as ACP vice chairmen were Allen McLaurin, Laurel Hill, NC.; and Clyde T. Sharp, Roll, Ariz.

Elected as an ACP producer director was Laudies D. Brantley, Jr., England, Ark., from the Mid-South region, and re-elected as producer directors were:  Frank W. Rogers, III, Bennettsville, S.C., from the Southeast region, Michael J. Alexander of Colorado City, Texas, from the Southwest region; Donald J Cameron, Helm, Calif., from the Western  region, and Dodson,

Tight Supplies For Cotton

National Cotton Council economists say a tight overall cotton supply and demand situation coupled with continued pressure from competing crops for the coming year is consistent with cotton prices above historical norms.
“As 2011 begins, the global cotton market is experiencing unprecedented prices with the “A” Index at $2 and nearby futures trading in the $1.70s,” Council economist, Dr. Gary Adams, says. “Unlike the price spike of March 2008, the current price situation has support from the fundamentals.”

Adams, the NCC’s vice president, Economics and Policy Analysis, says a key issue to watch will be the ability to sustain demand in the prevailing market conditions.

Fountain To Lead NCGA

The Memphis-based National Cotton Ginners Association (NCGA) elected its 2011 officers at its recent annual meeting in San Antonio.

Kent Fountain, manager of Southeastern Gin and Peanut in Surrency, Ga., was elected president.

For more NCC Annual Meeting details, go to

New NCC Leaders Elected For 2011

Re-elected NCC vice presidents by industry segment are:

NCC Officers

Cooperative – Meredith Allen, Greenwood, Miss.
Ginner – Sid Brough, Edroy, Texas.
Cottonseed – John C. Fricke, Pine Bluff, Ark.
Merchant – G.W. “Bill” Winburne, Peoria, Ariz.
Warehouse – Shane Stephens, Greenwood, Miss.
Textile Manufacturer – Andy Warlick, Gastonia, N.C.
Sledge Taylor, a Como, Miss., ginner, was elected secretary-treasurer.


Other CCI officers elected for 2011 are:

James L. (Jimmy) Webb, producer, first vice president, Leary, Ga.
John Burch, cooperative, second vice president, Bakersfield, Calif.
T. Jordan Lea, merchant, treasurer, Greenville, SC.
Mark D. Lange of Cordova, Tenn., was re-elected secretary.
Allen A. Terhaar of Washington, DC, was re-elected assistant secretary.


Serving as ACP state producer chairmen in 2011:

Alabama – Neal Isbell, Muscle Shoals, and Walter L. Corcoran, Jr., Eufaula.
Arizona – Paul Ollerton, Casa Grande, and Greg Wuertz, Casa Grande.
Arkansas – Herrick F. Norcross, III, Tyronza.
California – Mark McKean, Riverdale.
Florida – B. E. “Sonny” Davis, Jr., Cottondale.
Georgia – Chuck Lee, Pembroke, and Ronald C. Lee, Bronwood.
Kansas – Robert H. Miller, Wellington.
Louisiana – John E. Carroll, Gilbert, and Ted
Schneider, Lake Providence.
Mississippi – Cliff Heaton, Lyon.
Missouri/Illinois – Steve Droke, Hornersville, Mo.
New Mexico – Carl Moore, El Paso, Texas.
North Carolina – Gary L. Respess, Pantego, and
David Grant, Garysburg.
Oklahoma – Danny Robbins, V, Altus.
South Carolina – Roy Baxley, Dillon, and Kendall W. Wannamaker, St. Matthews.
Tenn./Kentucky – Jimmy Moody, Dyersburg, Tenn.
Texas – Craig Heinrich, Lubbock; Doyle K. Schniers, San Angelo; and Jon R. Whatley, Odem.
Virginia – James W. Jones, Jr., Windsor.


The new NCGA officers are:

President - Kent Fountain, manager of Southeastern Gin and Peanut, Surrency, Ga.
First vice president - Lee Tiller, Odem, Texas.
Second vice president - Richard Kelley, Burlison, Tenn.
Third vice president - Dwayne Alford, Yuma, Ariz.
Chairman - Kirk Gilkey, Corcoran, Calif.
Harrison Ashley of Memphis serves as NCGA’s executive vice president.

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
Tell a friend:
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .