Cotton Links

Industry News


Hardwick To Lead NCC In ‘09
Jay Hardwick, a Newellton, La., cotton producer, was elected chairman of the National Cotton Council (NCC) for 2009. Named during the NCC’s annual meeting in Washington, he served as the NCC’s vice chairman in 2008 and succeeds Larry McClendon, a Mari-anna, Ark., producer/ginner.

Hardwick’s Somerset Plantation farming operation in northeast Louisiana is adjacent to the Mississippi River and includes cotton, corn, grain sorghum, soybeans and wheat.

The National Cotton Council’s vice chairman for 2009 is Eddie Smith, a Floydada, Texas, cotton producer.

Re-elected as NCC vice presidents were:
Cooperative – Robert Norris, Bakersfield, Calif.
Ginner – Charles Owen, Pima, Ariz.
Cottonseed – Gail Kring, Lubbock, Texas
Warehouse – Shane Stephens, Greenwood, Miss.
Elected as NCC vice presidents were:
Merchant – Gary Taylor, Cordova, Tenn.
Textile Manufacturer – Andy Warlick, Gastonia, N.C.

U.S. Cotton Outlook Tied To Demand Recovery
The U.S. cotton industry continues to face “a very competitive and difficult economic climate,” but there are some reasons for optimism in the coming year, National Cotton Council economist Dr. Gary Adams says.

In presenting the NCC’s 2009 Economic Outlook to delegates, Adams says, “For the 2009 marketing year, reductions in cotton production will be evident in more countries than observed in previous years. Also, mill use is expected to recover based on independent economic projections calling for recovery by calendar 2010.”

He reiterated, though, that these projections are dependent on the wildcards of overall global economic performance and impacts of policy changes.

Regarding U.S. cotton supply estimates, Adams says the NCC’s planting intentions of 8.1 million U.S. cotton acres portends a 12.8-million-bale crop – 12.4 million bales upland and 372,000 of extra-long staple. This is about 250,000 total bales less than 2008. Even with smaller disappearance in 2009, combined mill use and exports will exceed the anticipated crop, further reducing U.S. stocks to 5.2 million bales.

Arizona Producer To Lead Cotton Council International
Clyde T. Sharp, a Roll, Ariz., cotton producer, will serve as 2009 president of Cotton Council International (CCI). CCI is the National Cotton Council’s (NCC) export promotions arm and carries out various programs in more than 50 countries globally under the COTTON USA trademark. As CCI’s new president, Sharp succeeds Robert S. Weil, II, an Alaba-ma merchant, who becomes CCI board chairman this year.

Other CCI officers elected for 2009 are:

First Vice President – Wally L. Darneille, cooperative, Lubbock, Texas.
Second Vice President – John D. Mitchell, merchant, Cordova, Tenn.
Treasurer – Jimmy L. Webb, producer, Leary, Ga.

Elected as CCI directors for 2009 were:
Hank Reichle, cooperative official, Greenwood, Miss.; Philip R. Bogel, merchant, Dallas, Texas; Michael Tate, producer, Huntsville, Ala.; and Stewart Weaver,
producer, Proctor, Ark.

Re-elected CCI directors include:
Producers – Rickey Bearden, Plains, Texas; Donald J. Cameron, Helm, Calif.; Dahlen K. Hancock, Ropesville, Texas; Richard Kelley, Burlison, Tenn.; and Cliett A. Lowman, III, Kingsville, Texas.
Ginners – Thomas S. “Sid” Brough, Edroy, Texas; and Clark Carter, Rolling Fork, Miss.
Merchants – Jordan Lea, Greenville, S.C.; Manfred Schiefer, Lubbock, Texas; Adolph Weil, III, Montgomery, Ala.; and G. William “Bill” Winburne, Phoenix, Ariz.
Cooperatives – John Burch, Bakersfield, Calif.; and Lonnie D. Winters, Lubbock, Texas.
Cottonseed Handler – Gail Kring, Lubbock, Texas.
Warehouser – Vance C. Shoaf, Milan, Tenn.
Manufacturers – Werner Bieri, Jefferson, Ga.; and Malloy Evans, Cheraw, S.C.

McLendon Receives Service Award
Bob McLendon, a Leary, Ga., cotton producer, is the recipient of the 2008 Harry S. Baker Distinguished Service Award. The Baker Award, named for the late California industry leader and NCC President Harry S. Baker, is presented annually to a deserving individual who has provided extraordinary service, leadership and dedication to the U.S. cotton industry.

McLendon, who has been a cotton, corn and peanut farmer since 1974, serves as president of the MAC Peanut Company, the president of Edison Gin Co-op and the president of Sunshine Warehouse of Arlington. He was the NCC’s president in 2000 and is a past president of Southern Cotton Growers.

Arizona’s Youngker Wins Lifetime Achievement Award
The late Arizona cotton producer Charles “Charlie” Youngker is the recipient of the 2008 Oscar Johnston Lifetime Achievement Award. Accepting the award on behalf of the family were his son, Chuck Youngker, and his daughter, Susan Truax.

Youngker, the 10th individual to be honored with this award, was involved for more than six decades in his family’s agribusinesses in Buckeye, Ariz.

In 1972, Youngker was elected the NCC’s 21st president. His year as NCC president was marked by efforts to improve communications between Cotton Incorporated and the NCC and to spur the development of basic research on byssinosis.

Before becoming NCC president, he represented Arizona on the first Producer Steering Committee and was active in the formation of the Cotton Producers Institute.

Taylor To Lead National Ginners
The Memphis-based National Cotton Ginners Association (NCGA) elected its officers for 2009 at its annual meeting. The officers are: president, Sledge Taylor, who is president of Como Consolidated Gin in Como, Miss.; first vice president, Kirk Gilkey, Corcoran, Calif.; second vice president, Kent Fountain, Surrency, Ga.; and third vice president, Lee Tiller, Odem, Texas.

Chris Breedlove, Harlingen, Texas is chairman and Harrison Ashley of Memphis, Tenn., serves as NCGA’s executive vice president.

In addition to the election of NCGA officers, Russell Kuhnhenn of Glendale, Ariz., was named the 2008 Horace Hayden National Cotton Ginner of the Year and Texas Cotton Ginners Association (TCGA) Executive Vice President Tony Williams is the recipient of NCGA’s 2008-2009 Distinguished Service Award.

Return To Top